New and Used Vehicles
All newly purchased vehicles , whether from a dealership or an individual, are subject to a one-time 6.6% State of Georgia Title Ad Valorem Tax (TAVT). This law became effective March 1, 2013. All vehicles purchased after March 1, 2013, are no longer subject to the annual ad valorem tax (birthday tax).
Vehicles purchased from a Georgia dealership, are required by law to collect Title Ad Valorem Taxes (TAVT) and certain state fees, and remit them to our office through the Georgia Electronic and Registration system.
Vehicle purchased from an out-of-state dealership , may mail your title to us on your behalf to Douglas County Tax Commissioner 6200 Fairburn Rd, Douglasville GA 30134; however, some out-of-state dealerships may be unaware of Georgia’s TAVT process and may not collect taxes. Please check with your selling dealership if buying out-of-state for further details.
Newly purchased vehicles from individuals must be registered within 7 days . TAVT is due at the time of title application for all vehicles purchased. You can calculate your TAVT due using the Georgia DOR ’s TAVT Calculator .
If purchasing your vehicle from an immediate family member and their vehicle is under TAVT, you can pay a reduced rate, if their vehicle is under Annual Ad Valorem Tax, you have the option of paying annual Ad Valorem Tax or pay the full TAVT amount for the vehicle. If you want to pay the reduced TAVT rate or continue paying Annual Ad Valorem Tax, the immediate family member must complete and notarize an Affidavit to Certify Immediate Family Relationship (MV-16) .
TAVT does not apply to the purchase of trailers, campers, or any non-motorized vehicles.
If you sell a vehicle, you keep your tag . Tags can be transferred to new vehicles that are registered to the same first owner. Proof of title (bill of sale for 1985 and older) is required to purchase a tag or transfer a tag from a vehicle you no longer own.
Tags expire on the birthday of the primary owner shown. You should receive a bill 30 days prior to renewal. Penalties apply after the birthday deadline. Failure to receive a bill in the mail does not relieve the penalty.
Georgia liability insurance is required to be transmitted to the state ’s data base by your insurance company to register your vehicle. The vehicle must have continuous insurance coverage, or a lapse fee will apply. If you cancel the insurance, you must also cancel the registration. https://dor.georgia.gov/motor-vehicles/drives-e-services
It is the vehicle owner ’s responsibility to ensure their vehicle is properly registered.
For additional information regarding vehicle registration please visit the State of Georgia Motor Vehicle Division website at https://dor.georgia.gov.